Site access after course conclusion

Access to course sites on Canvas is governed locally by each school at Harvard, and each school’s local support staff should be contacted for specific information about enrollment and course site conclusion.

When a course’s Canvas site is concluded, it enters a read-only mode and no further changes can be made to its content by teaching staff or students. The course will be moved to the “Past Enrollments” section of the Courses (& Groups) page. This is accessible from Courses (& Groups) > View All or Customize or canvas.harvard.edu/courses.  In this read-only mode:

The People and Lecture Video (from Mediasite) tabs will also no longer be viewable by students following a course site’s conclusion, and Outcomes and Chat functionality will be fully disabled.

Instructors can decide at a future date to unconclude their course site in order to restore enrollments and full functionality of the site.