Child pages
  • 10. Deleting Content from EASi
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

On this page:

 

During the processing of content within EASi, curators may choose to delete particular email messages and/or attachments. When deletions occur in EASi, the content will be removed but the deletion activity will be recorded in EASi and then eventually preserved within DRS as part of packet processing history.

Email content deleted in EASi is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

Deleting content from Full Display

You can delete a message and/or attachment from the item’s Full Display.

  • Open the full display of an email message or attachment you want to delete.

  • Click the Delete option that appears above the item (in the right panel). A Delete from EAS window will pop up.

  • Check the item to be deleted. If you are viewing a message with attachments, the message and all of its attachments can be selected and deleted in one step.

  • [Optional] Add a note that will be stored with the deletion history.
  • Click the Delete button to delete the item(s).
  • Once the item is deleted, your display changes to the Collections > Process History screen. An entry for the deletion is visible in the events table.

Deleting content from Brief Display

You can bulk delete a set of email messages and/or attachments from the Brief Display. Consult "Selecting Records for Bulk Operations" under "Working with Search Results" if you need a reminder on selection best practices.

  • On the Brief Display, check the items you want to delete.
  • Click the Delete option (above the list). A Delete from EAS window will pop up.
  • Check all items you want to delete. Besides deleting the selected items, EASi gives you the option to delete attachments associated with the selected messages, even if the attachments are not in your set of selected items.

  • [Optional] Add a note that will be stored with the deletion history.
  • Click the Delete button to delete the item(s). Click OK to close the Delete successful window.

Deletion event history

When you delete an email message or attachment, the item is deleted from the system and entries for it are removed from the EAS search index. Deleting an item also triggers these other events:

  • The system records a collection-level event for the deletion which is visible on the Collections > Process History tab.
  • The system adjusts collection- and account-level statistics to account for deleted items. This information is available on the Collections > Summary and Accounts > Summary tabs.
  • If an attachment is deleted but associated message is retained, the system records an item-level event for this deletion on the associated message, under Process History. Also, the attachment file name link in the message header is deactivated and relabeled as “Deleted Attachments”.

  • If an email message is deleted but associated attachment is retained, the system records an item-level event for this deletion on the associated attachment(s). Also, information about the associated message continues to display in the attachment’s metadata panel, but the EASi ID of the message is marked “Deleted”.

 

 

  • No labels